Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923 by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Canadian Forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force) now operate under the National Defence Act, 1950 (RSC 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime Forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Services ceased, and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional Ministers. Under the National Defence Act, the Canadian Forces are being administered solely by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, now functions under the National Defence Act. The Chairman of the Board has a status equivalent to that of a Chief of Staff of one of the Canadian Forces.

National Energy Board.—This Board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 for the broad purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of five members, is responsible for the regulation of the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which such power is transmitted. The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1952, c. 185) which provides for a Board of Governors of nine members—a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration). The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations".

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1952, c. 74). It was originally formed as the Department of Health in 1919 and later became part of the Department of Pensions and National Health. That Department was replaced in 1944 by the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

The Department, headed by the Minister of National Health and Welfare, is composed of three branches—Administration, Health, and Welfare—and is administered by two Deputy Ministers.

The Department has charge of all matters relating to the promotion or preservation of the health, social security and social welfare of the people of Canada over which the Federal Parliament has jurisdiction. It administers the Acts listed in Sect. 3, pp. 111-112, and is also responsible for: the administration of the National Health Program under which grants are made available to the provinces for the development and extension of health services; the federal aspects of emergency health and welfare services; health and safety in the peaceful uses of atomic energy and other sources of radiation affecting the population; the provision of health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Eskimos and to other elements of the population in the Yukon and Northwest Territories; the provision of assistance and consultative services to the provinces upon request on blindness control, child and maternal health, mental health, dental health, nursing, medical rehabilitation, nutrition and hospital design; the inspection and medical care of immigrants and seamen and the administration of marine hospitals; the supervision of public health facilities on railway, water and other forms of transportation; the enforcement of regulations of the International Joint Commission relating to public health; the promotion and conservation of the health of civil servants and other government employees; the collection, publication and distribution, subject to the provisions of the Statistics Act, of information relating to public health, improved sanitation and social and industrial conditions affecting the health of Canadians.

National Library.—The National Library came formally into existence on Jan. 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1952, c. 330). It publishes Canadiana, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Division maintains the National